Geosciences and Coastal Geophysics

Objectives

The curriculum entitled “Geosciences and Coastal Geophysics” (GGL) provides the fundamental competences, both theoretical and practical, in Geophysics, Geodesy, Marine Geology and Coastal Oceanography. Having successfully completed this course, graduates will be able to handle both land and marine geophysical instruments and will be skilled in data acquisition, scientific computation, data analysis and numerical modelling. This curriculum trains students to rigorous scientific thinking based on an up-to-date knowledge of the coastal zones. Graduates will be able to conduct interdisciplinary reflective thinking, to make diagnoses, to propose and/or simulate possible evolutions and strategies to meet the society’s needs. This MSc prepares students for environmental engineering or consultancy positions.

Skills developped

Upon completion of the training, graduates who have completed this major will be able to:

  1. understand and apply the theoretical and practical knowledge acquired in marine and terrestrial geophysics, geodesy, marine geology and coastal oceanography,
  2. deploy geophysical land- and sea-based instruments, collect and structure the measurement results,
  3. apply scientific computational methods, numerical modelling and data processing for geosciences and coastal geophysics,
  4. develop programming codes allowing to solve quantitative or qualitative environmental problems, building on advanced information analysis tools
  5. apprehend coastal issues, display critical thinking and apply rigorous reasoning, based upon state-of-the-art knowledge in geosciences and coastal geophysics,
  6. conduct an interdisciplinary reflection, manage the complexity, establish a diagnosis, and propose and/or simulate the possible evolutions of physical objects from the coastal environment to help answering the societal needs,
  7. conduct environmental projects within interdisciplinary working groups.

Organisation

During the first 3 semesters of the training, the major is taught in the form of 3 Teaching Units (TU) of 60 hours each. Some courses are modularized into 3 consecutive weeks, others are spread across 9 weeks. The majority of courses in the first semester are taught in English, and for most courses that are taught in French, support material and slides are provided in English. The evaluation of the courses takes place all along the semester, at the end of each TU. At the end of the second semester, a compulsory internship of 6 to 8 weeks is integrated into the curriculum. Similarly, the fourth semester of the master is devoted entirely to a 6-months final internship.

To know more, browse to the complete description of the curriculum.

Career

This major trains specialists in environmental issues who have an integrated vision of environmental issues, particularly in coastal areas. More than 75% of graduates of this major find a job corresponding to their skills within 6 months after the end of the training. Positions occupied by former graduates include:

  • environmental project manager
  • environmental study leader
  • scientific research (in government, industry, or academia)
  • design engineer
  • research engineer

Finally, the structures and organizations that recruit our graduates are varied:

  • public and private entreprises (within their “environment division”)
  • environmental consulting firms
  • natural parks, reserves, marine protected areas
  • non-profit associations
  • governmental agencies (BRGM, Shom, …)
  • NGOs
  • public research organisations (CNRS, IRD, IFREMER, …)

Géosciences et Géophysique du Littoral

Objectifs

La majeure Géosciences et Géophysique du Littoral (GGL) apporte les compétences fondamentales, tant théoriques que pratiques, en géophysique terrestre et marine, géodésie, géologie marine et océanographie littorale. Le diplômé est formé au déploiement d’instruments géophysiques à terre et en mer, à l’acquisition des données, au calcul scientifique, à la modélisation et au traitement numérique des données pour apporter des eléments de réponse aux problématiques du milieu physique littoral. Ce parcours forme à un raisonnement scientifique rigoureux, basé sur un état des connaissances actuelles sur le littoral. Cette majeure permet d’accéder aux métiers de l’expertise et de l’ingénierie environnementale, ainsi qu’aux métiers de la recherche (notamment au sein de bureaux d’études, collectivités territoriales, laboratoires de recherche).

Compétences développées

À l’issue de la formation, les diplômés ayant suivi cette majeure seront capables :

  1. de connaître, comprendre et savoir appliquer les fondamentaux, tant théoriques que pratiques, en géophysique terrestre et marine de surface et subsurface, géodésie, géologie marine et océanographie littorale,
  2. de déployer des instruments géophysiques à terre et en mer, de collecter et de structurer des résultats de mesure,
  3. d’appliquer des méthodes du calcul scientifique, de modélisation et de traitement numérique des données aux études en géosciences et géophysique du littoral,
  4. de développer avec aisance des codes informatiques permettant de résoudre des problèmes quantitatifs ou qualitatifs en environnement, en s’appuyant sur des outils d’analyses de l’information avancés,
  5. d’appréhender les problématiques littorales, de poser des jugements critiques et d’appliquer un raisonnement rigoureux, basé sur l’état des connaissances actuelles en géosciences et géophysique du littoral,
  6. de mener une réflexion interdisciplinaire, de gérer la complexité, d’établir un diagnostic et de proposer et/ou de simuler des évolutions possibles des objets physiques de l’environnement littoral pour répondre aux demandes sociétales,
  7. de conduire des projets environnementaux en autonomie, au sein de groupes de travail pluridisciplinaires.

Organisation

Au cours des 3 premiers semestres de la formation, la majeure est dispensée sous la forme de 3 Unités d’Enseignement d’environ 60 heures chacune. Certains enseignements sont modularisés sur 3 semaines, d’autres s’étalent sur 9 semaines. La majorité des cours du premier semestre sont dispensés en anglais. Le contrôle des connaissances a lieu au fil de l’eau dans chaque enseignement. À la fin du semestre 2, un stage obligatoire de 6 à 8 semaines est intégré au cursus. De même, le semestre 4 est consacré en totalité au stage de fin d’études.

Accéder au descriptif complet de la formation

Insertion professionnelle

Cette majeure forme des cadres spécialistes du milieu physique littoral, de l’instrumentation géophysique, de l’analyse des données et de la modélisation numérique, avec une vision intégrée des problématiques environnementales. Plus de 75% des diplômés de cette majeure trouvent un emploi correspondant à leurs compétences dans les 18 mois qui suivent la fin de la formation. Les postes occupés comprennent par exemple :

  • chargé de projet environnemental
  • chargé d’étude
  • chargé de recherche
  • chargé de mission
  • ingénieur d’étude

Enfin les structures qui recrutent nos diplômés sont variées :

  • des entreprises publiques et privées (au sein de secteurs “environnement”)
  • des bureaux d’études
  • des collectivités
  • des parcs naturels, réserves, aires marines protégées
  • des associations
  • des ONG
  • des organismes de recherche publics (CNRS, IRD, IFREMER, BRGM, …)