Environmental Sciences: a multidisciplinary field by nature

Our Master in Environmental Sciences trains environmental specialists able to apprehend questions of research or society related to the integrated management of natural areas, especially in coastal areas.

Multidisciplinarity is an original and essential asset of the training. It gives students a broad view of the environment in exploited ecosystems, while remaining specialists in ecology, geosciences, geography or management. For each student, the curriculum consists of:

  1. one major consistent with the undergraduate education (60% of the global teaching hours)
  2. one optional thematic minor to acquire specific and original skills (20% of the global teaching hours)
  3. several mandatory cross-curricular courses, common to all students enrolled in the master regardless of the majors and minors chosen (20% of the global teaching hours)

The major brings fundamental knowledge allowing students to become experts in one of the four disciplines of the master. Cross-disciplinary and minor courses allow students from the 4 majors to work together, among interdisciplinary groups, on various environmental issues. These courses help to develop a broad and integrated vision of environmental issues and prepare students to their future professional activity in a field that is multidisciplinary by nature.

The 4 majors, the 4 minors and the common courses are presented in the Teaching section of the website. You can also directly dive in the detailed content of each course of the master (but except for the courses taught 100% in English, the descriptions are in French only…).

Les Sciences Pour l’Environnement : un domaine pluridisciplinaire par nature

Le master Sciences Pour l’Environnement (SPE) forme des spécialistes de l’environnement capables d’appréhender des questions de recherche ou de société relatives à la gestion intégrée des espaces naturels, notamment en milieu littoral.

La pluridisciplinarité constitue un atout original et essentiel de la formation. Elle permet aux étudiants d’acquérir une vision large en matière d’environnement dans les écosystèmes exploités, tout en restant des spécialistes de l’écologie, des géosciences, de la géographie ou du management. Pour chaque étudiant, le cursus se compose :

  1. d’une majeure disciplinaire cohérente avec le parcours de licence (60% du volume horaire)
  2. d’une mineure thématique optionnelle permettant de développer des compétences spécifiques et originales (20% du volume horaire)
  3. d’enseignements transversaux communs à tous les étudiants du master indépendamment des majeures et mineures choisies (20% du volume horaire)

La majeure apporte les connaissances fondamentales permettant aux étudiants de devenir des experts dans l’une des 4 disciplines du master. Les enseignements transversaux et les mineures permettent aux étudiants issus des 4 majeures de travailler ensemble sur des problématiques environnementales variées. Ces enseignements permettent de développer une vision large et intégrée des problématiques environnementales et préparent les étudiants à exercer une activité professionnelle pluridisciplinaire par nature.

Les 4 majeures, les 4 mineures et les enseignements transversaux sont présentés à la rubrique enseignements. Vous pouvez aussi vous plonger directement dans les contenus détaillés de chaque module d’enseignement du master.